Randy Botti

Follow @hawaiiboy on Micro.blog.

the big rewire.

My wife went to the mainland to visit family. First time since before Covid. I didn’t go this time, start a new job Monday. I did use the free time to rewire our entire home network. It was a mess. Set it up when we moved in. It was all in the corner of my wife’s office. A number of devices have come and gone since then. I pulled everything out and started over. New surge suppressors, new shorter network cables for the close devices. Found a lot of dead end cables for devices the were pulled out. I waited to do this while she was gone. She is internet reliant and we have a secure wired connection for her, she works for a health insurance provider. Set up a Powerline extension to get a more stable connection to our TV (and AppleTV) in the living room. So far it work great. No buffering like we had on Wi-Fi at peak times. Mounted the router and switch on the wall behind the desk. Moved the wireless printer in the closet. Built in room to expand.

So nice to have that done.