Randy Botti

Follow @hawaiiboy on Micro.blog.

I can read again.

My internal reading switch, that had shut off years ago has been switched back on. Since forever, like many, I lost the ability to read books, I would only read social media, blog post, news articles with a few long form articles peppered in.

Through the years I started a number of books and didn’t have the patience to get past a few pages. Mostly self improvement or science.

In the past couple of weeks, I’ve dusted off my Kindle Paperwhite and have been hooked, like many years ago with paper books.

I think it’s a combination of what’s going on in the world, I felt like I needed something comforting and I had time on my hands. Yesterday I laid under a tree at the beach and read for 4 hours. I haven’t done that for 20 years.

The other key was the first author I went to after seeing something on Social Media was Samuel Becket. I was sucked back in. Right now I am reading Walden for the first time since college and the Wilderness Essays by John Muir. More Samuel Becket and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the queue.

Will budget my RSS feed and social media time.

This will be fun