Randy Botti

Follow @hawaiiboy on Micro.blog.

The Hey / Apple kerfuffle

The Hey / Apple controversy sure hit a nerve this week. I’m not a Developer, I’m a Consumer, I know a lot of Devs and have beta tested dozens of apps, at one point I had a whole list in Testflight. Only 3 right now. I’ve lost the desire to do testing, I just want apps to work out of the box.

As a user, I like the simplicity of the app store. I don’t need to enter a CC# every time. I like how I can see all of my subscriptions, manage them in one place and change the credit card if I like.

My wife and I recently reviewed every subscription that we have, it was a hassle going though credit card statements to look for subscriptions not in the app store.

I do think the Apple App tax is a bit onerous and in my world, if my restaurant paid a 30% off the top for each customer, I wouldn’t be very happy. I did have to deal with worker’s comp, unemployment, Social Security tax, rent, utilities, licenses (liquor was big one) and permits and the constantly changing cost of sales and supplies. (Food and Beverage).

We offered free lunch delivery in Hilo. My delivery guy got 30% off the top and free lunch every day, he was independent. The way I looked at it, was the deliver order didn’t take a seat in the restaurant and didn’t take the time of my dining room staff. We did a solid lunch delivery business to medical offices. To me it was gravy sales and getting 70% of the revenue was fine with me, after-all dollars go into the bank not %. 70% of something it better than 100% of nothing.

I don’t know the full economic model of a developer to form a proper opinion, every business has their thing. Just trying to weight in with a brick and mortar perspective.

Canoes Cafe - 1995-2004