Randy Botti

Follow @hawaiiboy on Micro.blog.

Force vs Gentle enticement

Both grandsons (12 and 9yo) came to our place in pissy moods today. They buried their heads in their devices (Chromebook and Switch). My wife’s attempts to communicate with them and lure them out of the devices was failing miserably and making all 3 of them upset and just annoying me. She was going on and on about how those devices will ruin their minds.

I finally asked my wife to just go back into the other room and get back to work (she’s working from Home, I’m laid off).

It easier to draw bees with honey than fire. Without saying a thing, I pulled out the 2 tubs of lego from the closet, and started building something across the room. Took about 10 minutes and the younger on put down his switch and came over to see what I was doing and with minutes we was totally involved. It took about 10 more minutes for his older brother 2 join.

We were there for about 3 hours. Not a single mention of their devices. After lunch the older one went back to lego and didn’t pick up his Chromebook the rest of the day.

Win⁴