Randy Botti

Follow @hawaiiboy on Micro.blog.

Memories of youth.

I remember going to the ‘71 and ‘72 and ‘74 Sunshine Crater Festivals as a young teen. We lived a couple of miles from Diamond Head. My friend Chuck Jackson and I rode our bikes. We had to lock them outside the crater, wouldn’t let us take them in. If I recall tickets were like $3.

We saw Carlos Santana and Buddy Miles, but didn’t realize the significance at the time. Also saw Richie Havens, he was amazing. Tower of Power, One distinct memory for a young teenage boy was all of the scantily clad or partially unclad young ladies.

There was the main stage, shown in most of the pix, but also a Jazz stage and Hawaiian Music stage. Pakalolo (weed) was prevalent. First real exposure to it. Went on to ‘inhale’ much more in my youth.

What and experience. Our litigious society (and possibly viruses) will insure we never have another one.

youtu.be/RfUknHRkf…